Welcome to your watchlist

Look for the plus icon next to videos throughout the site to add them here.

Save videos to watch later, or make a selection to play back-to-back using the autoplay feature.

Introducing ART21’s New Executive Director, Tina Kukielski

Dear friends of ART21:

We are delighted to share very important news with you. At a special meeting on Tuesday, January 5th, the ART21 Board of Trustees enthusiastically voted to hire Tina Kukielski as ART21’s next Executive Director. Following a national search, Tina was selected to succeed ART21’s visionary Founder Susan Sollins, who led the organization for 17 years before her untimely passing in 2014. ART21 is currently preparing its eighth season of ART21 Art in the Twenty-First Century, which will premiere on PBS broadcast and digital platforms in the fall of 2016.

We feel strongly that Tina will lead ART21 into its next stage of excellence. Her understanding of the creative process and her advocacy for art’s central position in our culture are core values for the organization. She possesses the entrepreneurial leadership that has come to define ART21, and her curatorial imagination and skill will be vital as our team looks to the future.

Tina will join ART21 on January 15th, after more than 13 years as a contemporary art curator. She has previously held positions at the Whitney Museum of American Art and the Carnegie Museum of Art, and has independently curated art projects around the world. She was a co-curator of the acclaimed 2013 Carnegie International and was recently included in a list of “25 Women Curators Shaking Things Up” by Artnet.com.

Included here is a link to the press release that details the appointment. An exclusive story appears in The New York Times online, and in the January 8th printed edition.

As ART21 prepares for an exciting future under Tina’s leadership, please accept the appreciation of the entire Board and staff for your firm support over the last difficult year. You have helped us weather the storm, and we hope that you will continue to accompany us on the sunnier days ahead.


David S. Howe
Board Chair

Migs Wright
Board President Emerita

James Cohan
Board member